Lenny Henry - Who Am I Again?

Tour synopsis, cast & creatives

Lenny Henry - Who Am I Again?
Lenny Henry has become a crucial influence on the creation of black-centred comedy and characters. Born in Dudley, West Midlands in 1958, he says 'My family came to the UK at a time when blacks were just beginning to be integrated into British society. I was on of just three blacks in our school'. His first television exposure was as a comic on New Faces. He then when on to appear on Tiswas with Chris Tarrant who made a big impression on him. Lenny says: ' It was then that I began to develop my work..I remember going to the Comedy Store and realising that I didn't have to rely on impersonations so much and that I could be funnier by being myself'. Following Tiswas, he appeared on Three of a Kind with Tracey Ullman and David Copperfield. It ran for three years on BBC TV and Lenny's introduction to large television audiences. He has gone on to appear on many different television shows, talking on a range of characters as well as hosting the highly successful The Lenny Henry Show. In part one of the show, Lenny will take the audience through a jam session of stories both funny and sad - triggered when writing his memoir - from growing up in the Black Country, puberty, school, friendship, family secrets and unashamed racism. With his mother's mantra of 'H'integration' echoing in his ears, Lenny will recount setting out on his roller coaster ride of a career - but at every stage wondering: Am I good enough? Is this what they want? In part two, Lenny will be interviewed by friend, broadcaster and author Jon Canter, for further insights into his life and career, followed by questions from the audience. Come and enjoy these honest and tender stories, told with a glorious sense of humour and help Lenny figure out ?Who Am I Again?' Lenny Henry - Who Am I Again? website.

Performers Lenny Henry.
 

Tour details for Lenny Henry - Who Am I Again? 2019

Between 20th October 2019 and 29th November 2019 this tour will visit 34 venues in Birmingham, Sheffield, York, Outer London, Bexhill-on-Sea, Watford, Basingstoke, Leeds, Hull, Gateshead, Edinburgh, Blackpool, Salford, Bradford, Liverpool, Outer London, Southampton, Plymouth, Oxford, Bournemouth, Nottingham, Tunbridge Wells, Cardiff, Coventry, Northampton, Southend-on-Sea, Leicester, Dudley, Portsmouth, Cambridge, Ipswich, Wolverhampton, Bath and Stoke-on-Trent. Current and future dates only.

Dates for Lenny Henry - Who Am I Again? (Comedy) tour


Sun, 20th October 2019
  Birmingham Hippodrome, Birmingham» {1}

Mon, 21st October 2019
  City Hall, Sheffield» {1}

Tue, 22nd October 2019
  York Barbican Centre, York»

Thu, 24th October 2019
  Fairfield Hall, Outer London» {1}

Fri, 25th October 2019
  De La Warr Pavilion, Bexhill-on-Sea» {1}

Sat, 26th October 2019
  Colosseum, Watford» {1}

Sun, 27th October 2019
  Anvil Arts, Basingstoke» {1}

Tue, 29th October 2019
  Town Hall, Leeds» {1}

Wed, 30th October 2019
  Hull City Hall, Hull» {1}

Thu, 31st October 2019
  The Sage, Gateshead» {1}

Sun, 3rd November 2019 to Mon, 4th November 2019
  The Lowry, Salford» {1}

Tue, 5th November 2019
  St George's Hall, Bradford» {1}

Wed, 6th November 2019
  Liverpool Empire Theatre, Liverpool» {2}

Fri, 8th November 2019
  Hackney Empire, Outer London» {1}

Sat, 9th November 2019
  O2 Guildhall Southampton, Southampton»

Sun, 10th November 2019
  Pavilions, Plymouth» {1}

Mon, 11th November 2019
  New Theatre, Oxford» {2}

Tue, 12th November 2019
  Pavilion Theatre, Bournemouth» {1}

Thu, 14th November 2019
  Theatre Royal, Nottingham» {1}

Fri, 15th November 2019
  Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells» {1}

Sat, 16th November 2019
  Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff» {1}

Sun, 17th November 2019
  Warwick Arts Centre, Coventry» {1}

Mon, 18th November 2019
  Royal & Derngate, Northampton» {1}

Wed, 20th November 2019
  Cliffs Pavilion, Southend-on-Sea» {1}

Thu, 21st November 2019
  De Montfort Hall, Leicester» {1}

Fri, 22nd November 2019
  Dudley Town Hall, Dudley» {1}

Sun, 24th November 2019
  Guildhall, Portsmouth»

Mon, 25th November 2019
  Corn Exchange, Cambridge» {1}

Tue, 26th November 2019
  Ipswich Regent, Ipswich» {1}

Wed, 27th November 2019
  Grand Theatre, Wolverhampton» {1}

Thu, 28th November 2019
  Bath Forum, Bath» {1}

Fri, 29th November 2019
  Regent Theatre, Stoke-on-Trent» {2}
{} = The number of on-line ticket suppliers found for this event

Note: only UK venues with postcodes will be shown on the map

QR/QTIX Links

, QTix Codes:
Production: T01093821538
Event:S01656341431
QTix codes uniquely identify each venue (V), listing (L), tour/production (T) and show/event (S).

Embed Information

You can embed this tour information on your own website by adding a single line of code to a page and using the Qtix code T01093821538 - for details see our Embed Information page.

TELLME Notifications

Receive email notifications of changes to Lenny Henry - Who Am I Again?.

User Reviews

No current ratings on UKTW, why not be the first to vote!

Add a Review


The name you give will be stored and displayed with this review



© Dynamic Listing Ltd, UK
1995-2019
PRIVACY and GDPR
Tickets by SeatChoice
Listings powered by Dynamic Listing Ltd

Developed and Maintained by RMJIold

Cookies in Use