Birdsong

Synopsis/Cast/Creatives

Birdsong
A mesmerising story of love, courage and sacrifice is now brought to the stage in this critically acclaimed version of Sebastian Faulks's bestselling novel. An epic tale of love and war set both before and during the Great War. In pre war France, a young Englishman Stephen Wraysford embarks on a passionate and dangerous affair with the beautiful Isabelle Azaire that turns their world upside down. As the war breaks out over the idyll of his former life, Stephen must lead his men through the carnage of the Battle of the Somme and through the sprawling tunnels that lie deep under ground. Faced with the unprecedented horror of the war Stephen clings to the memory of Isabelle as his world explodes around him.
Approximate runtime 160minutes.


Book by Sebastian Faulk. Adapted by Rachel Wagstaff. Producer Birdsong Productions (in association with Original Theatre Company). Director Alastair Whatley. Director Charlotte Peters. Design Victoria Spearing. Lighting Alex Wardle. Sound Dominic Bilkey.

Tour details for Birdsong

Between 19th February 2018 and 14th July 2018 this tour will visit 10 venues in Cheltenham, Woking, Windsor, Salford, Southampton, Glasgow, Birmingham, Malvern, Tunbridge Wells and Bristol. This production has already been seen in 2 venues since 31st January 2018.

Dates for Birdsong (Play) tour

Currently showing
Mon, 19th February 2018 to Sat, 24th February 2018
  Everyman Theatre, Cheltenham»

Mon, 12th March 2018 to Sat, 17th March 2018
  New Victoria Theatre, Woking» {1}

Mon, 26th March 2018 to Sat, 31st March 2018
  Theatre Royal, Windsor» {1}

Tue, 3rd April 2018 to Sat, 7th April 2018
  The Lowry, Salford» {1}

Tue, 17th April 2018 to Sat, 21st April 2018
  NST Campus, Southampton»

Tue, 29th May 2018 to Sat, 2nd June 2018
  Theatre Royal, Glasgow» {1}

Mon, 18th June 2018 to Sat, 23rd June 2018
  New Alexandra Theatre, Birmingham» {1}

Tue, 26th June 2018 to Sat, 30th June 2018
  Malvern Theatres, Malvern»

Mon, 2nd July 2018 to Sat, 7th July 2018
  Assembly Hall Theatre, Tunbridge Wells» {3}

Tue, 10th July 2018 to Sat, 14th July 2018
  Bristol Old Vic, Bristol» {1}
{} = The number of on-line ticket suppliers found for this event

Note: only UK venues with postcodes will be shown on the map

QR/QTIX Links

, QTix Codes:
Production: T01759749360
Event:S1683634050
QTix codes uniquely identify each venue (V), listing (L), tour/production (T) and show/event (S).

Embed Information

You can embed this tour information on your own website by adding a single line of code to a page and using the Qtix code T01759749360 - for details see our Embed Information page.

TELLME Notifications

Receive email notifications of changes to Birdsong.

User Reviews

No current ratings on UKTW, why not be the first to vote!

Add a Review





© UK Theatre Web, UK
1995-2018
Developed and Maintained by RMJIoldGoogle+ Author
Tickets by SeatChoice
Listings powered by Dynamic Listing Ltd

Cookies in Use