UKTW - 25 years online
CORONAVIRUS: All UK venues closed on 16th March 2020, work is underway to re-open safely. Some venues are showing on-line productions or outside productions - even a few covid safe internal ones and a number of tours and shows have been rescheduled for later in 2020 and throughout 2021. We are updating our listings as much as possible to reflect the changes as they are reported.


As part of the international celebration of Kenneth MacMillan. Kenneth MacMillan's contribution to The Royal Ballet is immeasurable. This Triple Bill features three one act works that show the depth and wealth of his talent. Danses Concertantes was Kenneth MacMillan's first commissioned work and also marked the beginning of his lifelong collaboration with Nicholas Georgiadis. Set to Stravinsky's score, the ballet requires total precision that matches and complements the complexity of the music, with its sudden shifts in metre and tone. In 1991 MacMillan asked Ian Spurling to create new designs for the ballet. For this programme, the revival of Danses Concertantes will recreate the original Georgiadis designs. MacMillan's profoundly moving Gloria, set to Francis Poulenc's Gloria in D major used Vera Brittain's Testament of Youth as its inspiration. Created for The Royal Ballet and first performed on 13 March 1980 this powerful and elegiac work mourns the waste of young lives in the trenches during the First World War. Andy Klunder's designs are a distinctly abstract depiction of the period providing a stark and strangely ethereal view of the desolation of the First World War. The Laurence Olivier Award winning The Judas Tree, premiered on 19 March 1992, was MacMillan's last work for The Royal Ballet. Brian Elias' commissioned score was created independently of any scenario or characterisation from MacMillan, a process that was to drive the ballet rather than illustrate it. Using Jock McFadyn's designs The Judas Tree is set on a building site using Canary Wharf as its backdrop. It is a highly charged ballet of betrayal and sexual violence, a resounding condemnation of humanity's flaws. Approx. running time: 2 hours 30 minutes

Performers Jock McFadyen (The Judas Tree), Miyako Yoshida, Nathan Coppen, Johan Kobborg, Tamara Rojo, Martin Harvey, Ricardo Cervera, Mara Galeazzi, Edward Watson, Jonathan Cope, Marianela Nunez, Carlos Acosta, Jaimie Tapper, Inaki Urlezaga, Yohei Sasaki.
Conductor Richard Bernas. Music Igor Stravinsky (Danses Concertantes). Choreographer Kenneth MacMillan (Dances Concertantes). Design Nicholas Georgiadis (Danses Concertantes). Music Brian Elias (The Judas Tree). Choreographer Kenneth MacMillan (The Judas Tree). Lighting John B Read (The Judas Tree). Music Francis Poulenc (Gloria). Choreographer Kenneth MacMillan (Gloria). Design Andy Klunder (Gloria). Lighting Bill Besant (Gloria).

Royal Ballet - Triple Bill - Danses Concertantes/The Judas Tree/Gloria

Royal Ballet - Triple Bill - Danses Concertantes/The Judas Tree/Gloria (Dance or ballet) production archive for QTIX code T92296732. Details of all Royal Ballet - Triple Bill - Danses Concertantes/The Judas Tree/Gloria archived productions can be found under the QTIX code: S988099856

Archive Listings

29 Apr 03
14 May 03
Royal Opera House
West End
Greater London

© Dynamic Listing Ltd, UK
Tickets by SeatChoice
Listings powered by Dynamic Listing Ltd
Multidomain certificate installed
Developed and Maintained by RMJIold

Cookies in Use