A Chorus of Disapproval archiveOne of Ayckbourn's funniest and best loved comedies, A Chorus of Disapproval centres on a diffident widower who attempts to escape from his loneliness by joining the local amateur list operatic society. By not saying 'no' to anything, be it a request to obtain confidential information from his company or an offer of illicit sex, he advances, by accident rather than design, from a one-line part to the lead. Ayckbourn's script shows us how painfully embarrassed are the British in the face of emotion and keeps us laughing in happy recognition.


Stephen Beckett, Bill Champion, Claudia Elmhirst, Emma Gregory, Melanie Gutteridge, Eliza Hunt, Denis King, Adrian McLoughlin, Sarah Moyle, Patrick Myles, Roger Sloman, Billie-Claire Wright, Philip York, Anja Rodford, Iain Winstanley


Author: Alan Ayckbourn
Producer: Stephen Joseph Theatre
Director(s): Alan Ayckbourn, Denis King (music)
Design: Michael Holt
Lighting: Jason Taylor
Choreographer: Sheila Carter
CORONAVIRUS: All UK venues closed on 16th March 2020, restrictions were lifted on 19th July 2021. Please note that iUKTDb archive listings between March 2020 and July 2021 may not be accurate as we did not receive details of all rescheduled and cancelled shows.

A Chorus of Disapproval

A Chorus of Disapproval (Play) production archive for QTIX code T01041206076. Details of all A Chorus of Disapproval archived productions can be found under the QTIX code: S2170

Archive Listings

14 Jul 04
7 Aug 04
Stephen Joseph Theatre
North Yorkshire

© Dynamic Listing Ltd, UK
Listings powered by Dynamic Listing Ltd
Multidomain certificate installed